Skip to main content

Book Review: The Girl Who Couldn't Leave - Catherine Miller


Such an emotional, heart warming story.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

An emotional journey of a young woman who has built such high boundaries around her to hide from the traumas of her past, that she never leaves her home.

Catherine Miller has a knack for writing characters who touch your heart.

Book Blurb

She hasn’t left her house in five years. Can love unlock the door?

It’s been 1,825 days since 
Fiona Dexter last set foot outside 14 Wellington Drive.

Five years ago, something happened that changed Fiona forever. Now she is too afraid to walk beyond her front gate.

It’s not the life Fiona had dreamed of but she has made it work, finding happiness in the safe routine of her days. On Mondays she treats herself to a glass of Chardonnay. On Tuesdays she has a working lunch at her desk (usually peanut butter on toast). On Wednesdays and Thursdays, she alternates spinning classes in her shed with yoga in the garden. Saturdays are for tidying up and Sundays are for relaxing in her favourite armchair.

But today is different. Today, her perfectly planned Monday is suddenly interrupted by a knock at the door and a stranger on the other side. Someone who could change everything.

Now Fiona is faced with an impossible choice. Is she brave enough to open the door? And if she does, will it set her free from her past or close her off from the world forever?

The perfect hopeful and heart-warming read we all need! It reminds us that life continues no matter where we are, and that living is all about finding someone to share the journey with. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will love this emotional and uplifting story.


Purchase Link - https://amzn.to/3Oj4Jci


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Perfect Daughter Three Weeks On

Can you believe it's been three weeks since my debut; 'The Perfect Daughter', was published? To me, it only feels like a couple of days, but then so much has been happening recently that the days seem to have blurred together in one long, wonderful, but hectic dream. On Tuesday 19th of October, I celebrated with a Facebook live launch party. It was initially a surreal feeling, talking to my own reflection and wondering if anyone else was there. Thankfully it was a wonderful group, who were all busy typing away in the comments section, so I didn't feel lonely for long. Thank you to every one who attended, I hope you enjoyed the evening filled with book talk, Prosecco and chocolates. I certainly did!  If you missed the party, you can catch the recording on my facebook page. And if you're quick, I have a few party packs left, they are available with a purchase of a signed copy of The Perfect Daughter (message me for details). I’m so grateful to all the fantastic book b

Guest Blog - Karen King

Today I'm thrilled to welcome author Karen King to the blog to talk about writing the light and dark of relationships: I write psychological thrillers and contemporary romance novels. At first glance it might seem that I write for two completely different genres, but to me they are two sides of the same coin, they’re both about relationships. When you meet someone whether it be a potential lover, friend, neighbour, work colleague or in-law the relationship could go two ways. You either get on or you don’t. Most of the time if you don’t get on it’s no big deal and you will simply try to avoid each other, and be polite if you do have to meet, but I hone in on this situation for my stories. If I’m writing a romance novel this situation will add a bit of conflict that puts obstacles in the way of the leading couple and adds an element of ‘will they or won’t they to’ their course of true love. If I’m writing a psychological novel, on the other hand, this situation could be deadly. Let’s

Guest Blog:- Jessica Redland

I'm so exited to launch a brand new guest blog feature on my website, where I'll be welcoming fellow authors to chat about their books and how mental health features in their writing. And here to get us started, is the lovely Jessica Redland: I write stories about love, friendship, family, and community. My books are reflective of the real-life issues that people face, and I’ve covered many emotional subjects including bereavement, lifechanging illness diagnosis, loneliness, abuse, bullying and suicide. I always massively research the subjects, deal with each sympathetically, and ensure an uplifting and hopeful story. I believe that books can massively help anyone struggling with their mental health for two reasons. The first is the escapism. It doesn’t matter what genre the book is, reading or listening to an audiobook is an opportunity to take you outside of your current world and immerse you in another and that’s something so many of us need these days as the world’s a pre