Skip to main content

The Inspiration Behind 'The Perfect Daughter'

My childhood was spent reading fairy-tales and watching Disney movies. I loved their charm, magic and mystery. They taught me to hope. They taught me to daydream. And I dreamed of finding my own Prince Charming and happy ever after. 

When I was about 7 years old my best friend spent her summer holiday in Florida and visited Disney World. She returned with photos full of vibrant colours and tales of amazing adventures. I was in awe. I desperately wanted to go too, but we couldn’t afford it. However, my parents made me a promise; one day they would take me.

And they did.

I celebrated my 21st birthday at the Magic Kingdom. We even had a meal at Cinderella’s Royal Table, the restaurant in the castle itself. 

For one day, I was a Princess.

At the end of the holiday we returned home. All that remained were cherished memories. I may have been a Princess, but I still hadn’t found my happy ever after.

Did such a thing even exist?

It seems fitting that this childhood love of Cinderella would eventually inspire the story that has become my debut published novel. ‘The Perfect Daughter’ is a twisted chilling take on that Cinderella tale. 

Real life is rarely a fairy-tale. Life is messy and complicated. People aren’t necessarily heroes or villains, but a tangled mixed of both. I started to wonder what if Prince Charming wasn’t who he seemed? What if he wasn’t really rescuing Cinderella at all? But then, what if she’d never even needed him to change her life? What if that power had always been within her? What if the shy ordinary girl had another side to her character too?

The Perfect Daughter’ is a story of trust, manipulation and the lies we tell ourselves


The perfect daughter



Jess Harper has spent her whole life trying to make her mum, Abigail happy and proud. And everything Jess does, from the clothes she wears, the job she has, the men she dates, are all approved by Abigail first.

The perfect boyfriend…

So when Jess announces that she has a new man in her life – plumber Adam – Abigail is less than impressed. 'A plumber? Really, Jessica....' Adam encourages Jess to break free from her mum’s manipulation, can’t she see what’s happening?

The perfect mother….


But Abigail is only doing these things to keep Jess safe, to protect her from getting hurt again…isn’t she?

Or the perfect liar?

Jess, caught in the middle, doesn’t know who to believe or trust. And then Adam vanishes without trace.

Now Jess is the police’s prime suspect and they want to know if Jess really is as perfect as she seems….

A gripping new psychological thriller for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and S.E.Lynes


One thing I learned while writing this story was that maybe that happy ever after I’d dreamed of as a girl, wasn’t about finding a happy ending, but about finding happiness in the day to day.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Perfect Daughter Three Weeks On

Can you believe it's been three weeks since my debut; 'The Perfect Daughter', was published? To me, it only feels like a couple of days, but then so much has been happening recently that the days seem to have blurred together in one long, wonderful, but hectic dream. On Tuesday 19th of October, I celebrated with a Facebook live launch party. It was initially a surreal feeling, talking to my own reflection and wondering if anyone else was there. Thankfully it was a wonderful group, who were all busy typing away in the comments section, so I didn't feel lonely for long. Thank you to every one who attended, I hope you enjoyed the evening filled with book talk, Prosecco and chocolates. I certainly did!  If you missed the party, you can catch the recording on my facebook page. And if you're quick, I have a few party packs left, they are available with a purchase of a signed copy of The Perfect Daughter (message me for details). I’m so grateful to all the fantastic book b

Guest Blog - Karen King

Today I'm thrilled to welcome author Karen King to the blog to talk about writing the light and dark of relationships: I write psychological thrillers and contemporary romance novels. At first glance it might seem that I write for two completely different genres, but to me they are two sides of the same coin, they’re both about relationships. When you meet someone whether it be a potential lover, friend, neighbour, work colleague or in-law the relationship could go two ways. You either get on or you don’t. Most of the time if you don’t get on it’s no big deal and you will simply try to avoid each other, and be polite if you do have to meet, but I hone in on this situation for my stories. If I’m writing a romance novel this situation will add a bit of conflict that puts obstacles in the way of the leading couple and adds an element of ‘will they or won’t they to’ their course of true love. If I’m writing a psychological novel, on the other hand, this situation could be deadly. Let’s

Guest Blog:- Jessica Redland

I'm so exited to launch a brand new guest blog feature on my website, where I'll be welcoming fellow authors to chat about their books and how mental health features in their writing. And here to get us started, is the lovely Jessica Redland: I write stories about love, friendship, family, and community. My books are reflective of the real-life issues that people face, and I’ve covered many emotional subjects including bereavement, lifechanging illness diagnosis, loneliness, abuse, bullying and suicide. I always massively research the subjects, deal with each sympathetically, and ensure an uplifting and hopeful story. I believe that books can massively help anyone struggling with their mental health for two reasons. The first is the escapism. It doesn’t matter what genre the book is, reading or listening to an audiobook is an opportunity to take you outside of your current world and immerse you in another and that’s something so many of us need these days as the world’s a pre